Ohio Diversity Officers Collaboration

Diversity Officers in Higher Education


Ohio Diversity Officers Collaboration History Overview

For many years, diversity professionals from Ohio’s institutions of higher learning informally met at both national diversity conferences, such as the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE), and at the long-standing state diversity conference – the State of the State Conference, sponsored by Bowling Green State University. Each of these spontaneous meetings proved to be a rewarding networking opportunity that led to the attendees establishing professional relationships, developing partnerships for new initiatives, and most importantly, sharing valuable information and resources. Almost unknowingly, these meetings were the foundation for the creation of a premier diversity organization, which eventually became the Ohio Diversity Officers Collaboration. Shortly after returning from NCORE in June 2008, Hazel G. Rountree, Esq., the Assistant Director of Affirmative Action at Wright State University, contacted a number of diversity professionals from both private and public higher education institutions throughout Ohio to ascertain their interest in formalizing an organization for Ohio diversity professionals. After receiving an overwhelmingly positive response about the need to develop statewide networking organization for a wide spectrum of diversity officers, Ms. Rountree and Samuel H. Hancock, EdD., Assistant to the President for Institutional Diversity at the University of Toledo, developed a strategic implementation plan and recruited numerous diversity colleagues in the implementation process.After considerable input from prospective members, Dr. Mac A. Stewart, Vice Provost of Minority Affairs at The Ohio State University hosted our initial formal planning meeting on August 29, 2009 on his campus. Mr. Charles Shahid, from the Ohio Board of Regents, provided the luncheon remarks.  A “Call for Leadership” served as the formal invitation for attendees to become involved as an officer, county representative, or member. At the conclusion of the meeting, thirty-six individuals expressed their interest in meeting periodically with diversity professionals from various backgrounds, experiences, and institutions, along with their commitment to work to formalize the organization.

August 29, 2008
The Ohio Diversity Officers Collaboration’s initial formal meeting was held at The Ohio State University. Dr. Mac A. Stewart hosted the meeting. The following individuals attended the planning meeting: Art Brooks (Wilmington College), Tyronne Carr (Ohio University), Sean Creighton (Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education), Erik Farley (Denison University), Rashawn Gordon-Stafford (Franklin University), R. Renee Hampton (Columbus State Community College), Samuel H. Hancock (The University of Toledo), Davida Haywood (Capital University), Phyllis Henderson (Rhodes State College), Corey Holliday (Clark State Community College), Samantha Holmes (Baldwin-Wallace University), Richard Jackson (Mount Union College), Yulanda McCarty-Harris (Youngstown State University), Matt Matthews (Shawnee State Community College), Charles Miller (Urbana College), Darren Neely (Capital Law School), Njeri Nuru-Holm (Cleveland State University), Clyde Wilson Pickett (Ohio Northern University), Deborale Richardson-Boule (Case Western Reserve University), Dorian Roberts (Wright State University), Hazel Rountree (Wright State University), Rosalind Scott (Oho Weslyan University), Amanda Shaffer (Case Western Reserve University), Mac A. Steward (The Ohio State University), G. Christine Taylor (Miami University), Betty Valentine (Owen Community College), Jeff Vernooy (Wright State University), Edith Waugh (The Ohio State University), George Wharton (University of Cincinnati), Forest Wortham (Wittenberg University), Rhonda Williams (Kent State University), Larisa Wright (College of Mount St. Joseph), Gary Williams (Washington State Community College), William Blake (Youngstown State Univesity).

October 10, 2008
The Ohio Diversity Officers Collaboration (ODOC) installed officers and ratified their Constitution. Ms. Rosalind D. Scott from Ohio Weslyan chaired the Nomination Committee and presided over the Installation Ceremony. State Senator Ray Miller gave the opening remarks and Ms. Charleta B. Tavares, Columbus City Councilwoman and Executive Director of the Multiethnic Advocates for Cultural Competence, provided the plenary remarks. Dr. Mac A. Stewart hosted the meeting at the Frank Hale Center. This meeting is regarded as ODOC’s Founders Day.

February 6, 2009
A General meeting was held at Clark State Community College. Mr. Corey Holliday hosted this meeting. Samuel H. Hancock presented on his institution’s “On-line Diversity Training Program”. Dr. Karen E. Rafinski, President of Clark State Community College, provided the greetings.

March 20, 2009
A General meeting was scheduled to be held in conjunction with the State of the State (SOS) Conference, a statewide diversity conference for higher education, social services, and business professionals. Many ODOC members served on SOS’s planning board or were presenters at the conference. The keynote speakers at the SOS Conference were Shanta Driver and Tim Wise.

July 24, 2009
Dr. Jack T. F. Ling invited ODOC to the University of Dayton for the inaugural Annual Retreat. The Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education, Wright State University, and the City of Dayton were also sponsors of the Annual Retreat. Several higher education institutions became Partners for the Annual Retreat: Bowling Green State University, Case Western Reserve University, Clark State Community College, Edison State Community College, Miami University, Ohio Northern University, Ohio University, Owen Community College, Rhodes State College, Sinclair Community College, The Ohio State University, The University of Akron, The University of Cincinnati, and The University of Toledo.Additional institutions represented at the Annual Retreat include: Ashland University, Baldwin-Wallace University, Edison State Community College, Kenyon College, Miami University, Mount Vernon Nazarene University, Mount Union College, Northeastern Ohio Universities and Colleges of Medicine & Pharmacy, The College of Wooster, The University of Akron, Urbana College, University of Findlay, Washington State Community College, and Youngstown State University.

Comments are closed.